Crochet

Another Bag

After frogging the little dress, I decided to turn this Sugarwheel “Glazed Donut” into another Hobo Bag. I think this yarn will be perfect for a bag – it seems a little thicker to me than the usual worsted weight yarn and a little stiffer too.

I really like the way the stripes are working up. The coral color is not my usual choice so it’s kind of a nice change. I’ve been doing so much in purples and blues (my favorites) and tried to branch out a little with my yarn choice this time.

I don’t know if you can see the duct tape on my CrochetLite hook. The grippy part started to come off so…I just duct taped it. I’m sure there’s probably a more elegant solution to fix it but that’s what I had on hand. 🙂

I’m really hoping to finish this project this weekend so I can get on to the next. I saw this bag on Crafternoon Treats on Pinterest and now I’m obsessed. I’m thinking of using some of the Moogly CAL 2017 squares I already have made as it calls for 12 inch squares OR making a bunch of square #1 in the Sugarweel Pixie Twist.

image
Maybe?

My only problem is the lining. I am awful at sewing. Not being self-deprecating- it’s just the truth. I cannot sew at all. And oh, I have tried. I attempted quilting before I got into crochet and the results were comical. But I will give it a go again! It’s just hidden inside the bag anyway, right? 🙂

8 thoughts on “Another Bag

  1. If you want, you can check out my How-Tos section follow the link to my post about how to sew cylindrical bags. In the tutorial, it shows you how to sew a big and a liner. You wouldn’t follow all the steps, just the ones for cutting the circular bottom and the body of the liner (2 rectangles and 1 circle, NOT 4 rectangles and 2 circles) and sewing the liner together. After that you just hand sew the liner to your crocheted bag (and not follow any more steps from my tutorial). In the tutorial I also include some tips on how to get a darn circle sewn in a sewing machine and how to pin the darn circle to the body of the liner (it’s annoying, but it’s possible!).
    .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m horrible at sewing also. I know there are a few Youtubes showing how to easily line bags though. I need to watch a few myself because I have four bags now sitting here needing linings! Thanks for sharing your projects! I’m going to have to check out the new yarns at HL!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sewing is definitely not my thing either! I usually avoid any patterns that need a liner. I suppose if I really needed to I could hand sew something that resembled and functioned like a liner LOL. I love the coral against the gray – very striking look! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

